Other RAID Levels

The most common implementations of RAID are RAID 0, 1 or 5. CDR also receives requests regularly for the recovery of RAID 10 and RAID 6 arrays. As disks have grown in capacity the implementation of RAID 50, or mixed RAID levels, are becoming increasingly common.

Proprietary RAID configurations

RAID 6 Arrays can be particularly challenging to recover data from. This is because many manufacturers use proprietary ‘block-maps’. A ‘block-map’ is the pattern in which data is distributed over the disks in the RAID array. Whilst Reed-Solomon and Double-XOR are standard RAID 6 implementations, a number of RAID controllers use a proprietary method. For these RAIDs it is necessary to establish the block-map l out, and then apply this within custom built software.

CDR – Manchester Data Recovery Services – has the capability to recover data from all types of RAID, including those using proprietary block-maps.

Hardware RAID levels CDR can recover data from

  • RAID 0
  • RAID 1
  • RAID 3
  • RAID 4
  • RAID 5
  • RAID 6
  • RAID 0+1
  • RAID 1+0
  • RAID 100 (RAID 10+0)
  • RAID 50 (RAID 5+0)
  • RAID 53
  • RAID 60 (RAID 6+0)

Custom RAID levels CDR can recover data from

  • Double parity
  • RAID 5E, RAID 5EE, and RAID 6E
  • Intel Matrix RAID
  • Linux MD RAID 10
  • RAID 1E
  • RAID-Z
  • Drive Extender
  • BeyondRAID
  • unRAID
  • CRYPTO softraid

Uncommon RAID

It is now rare to see RAID arrays configurated in RAID 2, 3 or 4. These were superseded several years ago by modern implementations, typically by RAID 5.

What services can CDR provide?

  • Recover your lost data.
  • Provide a disk image to allow an attempt to make the computer / server bootable.
  • Advise on appropriate backup method.
  • Provide a fixed price quotation in advance of receipt of any RAID array.
  • Experienced staff with technical expertise can talk you through the process, including any early stage diagnosis before the RAID is received.
  • Please phone 0161 408 4857 to discuss your data recovery.